To 1 September. Knaresborough. Mother Shipton’s Cave. Witches & Wizards. www.mothershipton.co.uk

1 Halifax. Piece Hall. Yorkshire Day celebrations. Street party, live music, fun activities for all the family. www.thepiecehall.co.uk

1 Aysgarth Falls. National Park Centre. Yorkshire Day activities. Continues at Hawes, Grassington, Malham and Reeth. 10am-5pm. 01969 662910. www.yorkshiredales.org.uk

1 Spurn Head. Nature Reserve. Food and crafts, sample local honey, meet ‘Cliff’ the Puffin and have fun finding out about wildlife. 10am-5pm. www.ywt.org.uk

1 Whitby. Official celebrations for Yorkshire Day. Procession and events throughout the day. www.theyorkshiresociety.org

2 Dalby Forest. Adderstone Field. A Star Wars Story Sleep Over. Giant open-air movie screening. 9.30pm. www.discoveryorkshirecoast.com

2–4 Whitby. Nr the Abbey. Traction Engine Rally. www.discoveryorkshirecoast.com

2–5 Flamborough. St Oswald’s Church. Flower Festival. 10.30am-4.30pm. 01262 671917.

3 York. Castle Howard. Proms. Popular classics from the musicals, and firework finale. www.castlehoward.co.uk

3 Nr Doncaster. Yorkshire Wildlife Park. Wild Live Safari Nights. Music event. Continues 10, 17 & 24. www.yorkshirewildlifepark.com

3–4 Hebden Bridge. Vintage Car Weekend. www.hebdenbridge-vintageweekend.org.uk

3–4 Skipton. Castle. The Trayned Bands. Civil War Regiment prepare for battle. 01756 792442. www.skiptoncastle.co.uk

4 Leeds. Harewood. Rolls Royce Car Rally. 10am–4pm. www.harewood.org

4 & 25 Wakefield. National Coal Mining Museum. Hope Pit Explore. Interactive exploration for the whole family. www.ncm.org.uk

6 Egton Bridge. Gooseberry Show. www.egtongooseberryshow.org.uk

7–18 Harrogate. The Royal Hall. Gilbert & Sullivan Festival. 01422 323252. www.gsfestivals.org.uk

9–10 York. Auction Centre. British Wool Show. www.britishwool.net

9–18 Knaresborough. FEVA Festival. Street entertainment, walks, music, beer festival. www.feva.info

10 Arncliffe, nr Kilnsey. Littondale Fete. 1pm-5pm. https://blog.yorkshiredales.org.uk

10–11 Driffield. Steam and Vintage Rally. www.driffieldshowground.co.uk

10–11 Leeds. Harewood. VW Festival. Trade stands, displays, live music. 9am-5pm. www.harewood.org

10–12 Whitby. Regatta. Yacht racing, rowing, entertainment plus spectacular firework display. www.whitbyregatta.co.uk

10–18 Kettlewell. Scarecrow Festival Silver Jubilee. www.kettlewellscarecrowfestival.co.uk

11 Richmond. Town Hall. Chic Vintique Craft & Vintage Fair. 10am–4pm. blog.yorkshiredales.org.uk

15–18 Driffield. Sledmere House. Tribfest. World’s biggest tribute band festival. www.tribfest.co.uk

15–18 Nr York. Castle Howard. BBC Countryfile Live. Meet Matt Baker, John Craven, Adam Henson, Anita Rani and many more, plus trade stands, spectacular stunts, TV chefs, family entertainment. www.countryfilelive.com

16–18 Staithes and Runswick Bay. RNLI Lifeboat Weekend. www.discoveryorkshirecoast.com

17 Langcliffe. Village Show. From 1.30pm.

17–18 Middlesbrough. Albert Park. Mela Festival. www.lovemiddlesbrough.com

17–20 Helmsley. Town Hall. York Craft Fair. www.helmsleytownhall.co.uk

17–20 Whitby. Abbey. Big Top Theatre Circus. See the skills of circus performers. www.english-heritage.org.uk

18 Holmfirth. Brooklands. Classic and Vintage Car Show. www.holmfirthevents.co.uk

18–21 Scarborough. Cricket Club. Cricket Festival. www.scarboroughcricket.co.uk

21–22 Bolton Abbey. Open Air Cinema.  New films on a giant screen. www.thelunacinema.com

23–26 Brighouse. St Martin’s Parish Church. Jigsaw Festival. www.charity.jigsaw.festival.brighouse.org.uk

24–25 Kirkby Lonsdale. Big Sports Weekend. www.kirkbylonsdale.co.uk

24–26 Whitby. Showground. War Weekend. Workshops, demonstrations, encampments, live entertainment, food and drink. www.whitbyshowground.co.uk

25 Scarborough. Spa. Vintage Fair. Pure vintage, entertainment and classic cars. www.discoveryorkshirecoast.com

25 Gargrave. Village Hall. Flea Market. 10am–3.30pm.

25 Reeth. Village Songs of Praise with Reeth Brass Band. www.reethmemorialhall.co.uk

29 Middlesbrough. Town Hall. Folk Rock Legend Don McLean in Concert. 8pm. www.middlesbroughtownhall.co.uk

30 Ilkley. King’s Hall. Rock for Heroes. Pop and Rock celebration. www.bradford-theatres.co.uk

30–31 York. Racecourse. International Postcard Fair. Over 80 dealers. 01347 822722. yorkpostcardexpo.co.uk

30 to 1 September. Harrogate. Yorkshire Event Centre. Great Northern Quilt and Needlecraft Show. www.eventcentre.co.uk

31 to 1 September. Malton. Scampston Hall. Traction Engine Rally. www.scampston.co.uk

FOOD & DRINK FESTIVALS

1–4 Huddersfield. St George’s Square. Food & Drink Festival. www.huddersfieldfoodfest.com

9-10 Hull. The Rose Bowl & Queens Gardens. Yum Festival of Food and Drink. www.yumfestival.co.uk

10 Cawthorne, Barnsley. Cannon Hall Farm. Gin, Real Ale and Rum Festival. www.cannonhallfarm.co.uk

10–13 Filey. Evron Centre. International Food Festival. discoveryorkshirecoast.com

24–26 Sherburn in Elmet. Craft and Food Festival. www.craftandfoodfestival.co.uk

24–26 Hudswell. George and Dragon. Beer, Cider & Cheese Festival. georgeanddragonhudswell.co.uk

25 Malton. Marathon Du Malton. www.visitmalton.com

30-31 Harrogate. Convention Centre. Gin & Rum Festival. harrogateconventioncentre.co.uk

COUNTRY SHOWS

3 Osmotherley Show. www.osmotherleyshow.co.uk

3 Emley Show. www.emleyshow.co.uk

4 Sykehouse Show. www.sykehouseshow.org.uk

4 Tockwith Show. www.tockwithshow.org.uk

7 Thornton Le Dale show. www.thorntonledale.com

8 Appleby Show. www.applebyshow.co.uk

10 Boon Hill Show. www.boonhillshow.co.uk

10 Halifax Show. www.halifaxshow.org.uk

10 Sedgefield Show. www.sedgefieldshow.co.uk

10–11 Hull Show. www.thehullshow.co.uk

11 Ripley Show. www.ripleyshow.co.uk

14 Danby Show. www.danbyshow.co.uk

15 Brough Show. www.brough-show.org.uk

17 Gargrave Show. www.gargraveshow.org.uk

17 Rosedale & District Show. www.rosedaleshow.co.uk

18 Mirfield Show. www.mirfieldshow.com

21 Egton Show. www.egtonshow.co.uk

24 Burnsall Feast Sports Show. www.burnsallsports.co.uk

24 Malham Show. www.malhamdale.com

24 Wensleydale Show. www.wensleydaleshow.org.uk

26 Burniston & District Show. www.gonorthyorkshire.co.uk

26 Farndale Show. www.farndaleshow.co.uk

26 Reeth Show. www.reethshow.co.uk

27 Kilnsey Show. www.kilnseyshow.co.uk

31 Bilsdale Show. www.bilsdaleshow.co.uk

WALKS

3 Dales Way 50th Anniversary: Ilkley to Bolton Abbey. Meet 10am, Ilkley Old Bridge Dales Way Seat. www.friendsofdalesbus.org.uk

3 Harewood & Kirkby Overblow. Moderate 8.5 miles. Meet 11am, village hall car park, Harewood (GR: SE320452). www.ramblers.org.uk

3 The Harrogate Ringway. Moderate 11 miles. Meet 10.15am, car park Hornbeam Park Railway Station (GR: SE311538). www.takeahike.org.uk

4 Jervaulx, Middleham and Danby Hall. Moderate 12 miles. Meet 10.30am, Jervaulx Tearooms (GR: SE168856). www.takeahike.org.uk

4 Upper Nidderdale. Easy to moderate 5.5 miles. Meet at noon, Scar House Café. www.friendsofdalesbus.org.uk

5 Ingleton. Guided walk and talk. Meet 9am, Community Centre Sports Field.
www.yorkshiredales.org.uk

10 Appletreewick Pasture. Moderate 11 miles. Meet 10am, Grimwith Reservoir carpark (GR: SE064640). www.cravenramblers.org.uk

11 Gunnerside to Reeth. Easy 7 miles. Meet, Ribblehead for 10.24 bus to Gunnerside. www.friendsofdalesbus.org.uk

11 Buckden Pike from Kettlewell. Moderate 13 miles. Meet 9.15am, public toilets, Kettlwell (GR: SD969723). www.takeahike.org.uk

12 Wetwang. Moderate 6 miles. Meet 1pm, Wetwang Pond (GR: SE933590). www.ramblers.org.uk

14 Menston, Burley and the Wharfe (evening walk). Easy 5.5 miles. Meet 7.30pm, Malt Shovel (GR: SE168438). www.takeahike.org.uk

18 Langcliffe and Stainforth. Moderate 5.5 miles. Meet 11am, Langcliffe Village car park (GR: SE103466). www.cravenramblers.org.uk

18 Wetherby Ramble. Moderate 11 miles.  Meet 10.30am, Wilderness car park (GR: SE405480)

25 Baht’at. Moderate 8.5 miles. Meet 10am, Silver Cottage off Keighley Road, Ilkley (GR: SE103466). www.cravenramblers.org.uk

28 Malham Tarn. Easy 6 miles. Meet 9.30am, High Cleugh, Ripon for car sharing (GR: SE305708). www.ramblers.org.uk

31 To the Centre of the Earth. Moderate 11.5 miles. Meet 8.50am, Sandal and Agbrigg Railway Station (GR: SE343186). www.ramblers.org.uk

Join The Conversation

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Font Resize
Contrast